A showcase of some of the fine secular architecture of Brighton.
THE WEST PIER, BRIGHTON
Architect: Eugenius Birch, 1863
THE ROYAL PAVILION
Architects: originally Henry Holland, but latterly John Nash.
Decorations: John and Frederick Crace.
Built by John Nash for the Prince Regent, later George IV.
The Pavilion was originally a farmhouse (1786-1815), used by the Prince Regent as a retreat by the sea.
The palace was gradually transformed (1815-1822) into an oriental fantasy, incorporating stunning decoration, as well as the latest technological advances of the day.
Visited by Queen Victoria,but not loved by her, the building was later purchased by the town and restored as the outstanding achievement of Regency decoration.